Touch Screen

This forum discusses anything to do with your In Car Entertainment requirements such as. Stereo's, TV screens, Speakers, Navigation Systems, etc

Moderators: IMC, Club Staff

User avatar
Bennoz
National President
Posts: 23417
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 6:00 pm
Location: Sydney
Contact:
Touch Screen

Post by Bennoz » Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:47 am

As you all know, I hate wiring. And mahoosive sterio systems.

But I need to get some bling in order to run my Haltech live in car. At the moment, I've got a Asus EePC laptop that will live in the glove box (its a tiny little laptop with only a 4 gig solid state HDD running a cut down version of XP) and I need to find some sort of double din touch screen I can hook up to it. Whats a good sort of screen for that? It need to fit in the centre console area where the sterio is currently.

The laptop will run off 12v power (with inverter to bring it inline with the 240v power pack) it will be connected to the touch screen & also have a USB connection to the Haltech unit. The idea is to be able to switch between different tunes / maps while driving, just at the press of a screen.

A bonus would be if I could load a wad of MP3's onto an SD card, pop that in the laptop & run the car audio thru winamp on the laptop as well... thats gonna require some creative wiring that one... 4 speakers from a normal earphone jack.... oh and an amp.
Image

Pomwa
Grease Monkey
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 6:00 pm
Location: Canberra
Contact:

Post by Pomwa » Tue Oct 13, 2009 9:29 am

Something like this sounds like what you're looking for:

http://www.thinkgeek.com/computing/usb-gadgets/bfa3/
If you can't be good, be good at it!!

User avatar
I8A4RE
QLD Coordinator
Posts: 9594
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 5:00 pm
Location: BOOSTIN in front of you
Contact:

Post by I8A4RE » Tue Oct 13, 2009 9:50 am

Ben i have such a touch screen that will work perfectly. What your describing is exactly what I had running and installed in my car.

The reason i dont run it any more is my laptop fucked itself.

Make me a resonable offer on the touchscreen and its yours.

If you want brand new though go into Jaycar and they will be able to sell you exactly what you need

User avatar
Dras
Mechanic
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 5:00 pm
Location: Castle Hill, Sydney
Contact:

Post by Dras » Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:13 am

Ben, I would go for either of the following:

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Motorized-In-das ... 204wt_1167

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/In-dash-7-TFT-AV ... 757wt_1169

These both have vga inputs where as the jaycar one only has composite which from memory the Asus EePC does not support.

Also, rather than running an inverter (unless you are using it for other gear) jaycar sell 12V laptop power adapters. It will end up smaller and more efficient.

You may also want to consider a small bluetooth wireless keyboard. This has the added benefit that you could use it to wirelessly copy music to the car while it is parked in the garage.

If you need a hand with wiring / software give me a yell.

User avatar
Kustom
Oldtimer
Posts: 6144
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 5:00 pm
Location: Brisbane

Post by Kustom » Tue Oct 13, 2009 12:42 pm

Sounds like a sick idea, one day i may do the same, but for maps? It wouldn't work like a GPS would it? o_O
Because You would need a internet connection. :O
Unless you got one of those wireless modems I guess? Or you just gonna use it as a still map (like a refidex) ?

User avatar
Dras
Mechanic
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 5:00 pm
Location: Castle Hill, Sydney
Contact:

Post by Dras » Tue Oct 13, 2009 12:49 pm

Google maps allows you to cache the maps so that you don't need a permanent internet connection or alternately you can use an offline map such a Microsoft MapPoint.

User avatar
Kustom
Oldtimer
Posts: 6144
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 5:00 pm
Location: Brisbane

Post by Kustom » Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:39 pm

Dras wrote:Google maps allows you to cache the maps so that you don't need a permanent internet connection or alternately you can use an offline map such a Microsoft MapPoint.


Yeah but what I mean is so you can see where you are on the map? :O

User avatar
Dras
Mechanic
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 5:00 pm
Location: Castle Hill, Sydney
Contact:

Post by Dras » Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:45 pm

Kustom_FTO wrote:Yeah but what I mean is so you can see where you are on the map? :O


A USB GPS receiver + a program like this:

http://download.cnet.com/Google-Maps-wi ... 94227.html

and you can see where you are using Google maps.

User avatar
Bennoz
National President
Posts: 23417
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 6:00 pm
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Post by Bennoz » Tue Oct 13, 2009 3:04 pm

lol by tunes / maps I dont mean music and directions, I mean multiple setups I can run with my Haltech ECU :lol: Like changing boost levels, changing nitrous cut in times etc while driving.

Cheers for the ideas guys, I'll have a look into those screens (plus I actually like that GPS solution :D )

What would I do for a signal to the amp?
Image

User avatar
Bennoz
National President
Posts: 23417
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 6:00 pm
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Post by Bennoz » Tue Oct 13, 2009 3:15 pm

Dras wrote:Ben, I would go for either of the following:

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Motorized-In-das ... 204wt_1167

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/In-dash-7-TFT-AV ... 757wt_1169

These both have vga inputs where as the jaycar one only has composite which from memory the Asus EePC does not support.

Also, rather than running an inverter (unless you are using it for other gear) jaycar sell 12V laptop power adapters. It will end up smaller and more efficient.

You may also want to consider a small bluetooth wireless keyboard. This has the added benefit that you could use it to wirelessly copy music to the car while it is parked in the garage.

If you need a hand with wiring / software give me a yell.


K'in hell, those are perfect! Even has remote control... I could stick that to the back of steering wheel & punch up the boost with it mid corner! :lol:

Also has amp lines out. Now.... to do a sly cash transfer to my other account... *whistles nonchalantly & looks around at the sky*
Image

User avatar
Kustom
Oldtimer
Posts: 6144
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 5:00 pm
Location: Brisbane

Post by Kustom » Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:15 pm

Bennoz wrote:lol by tunes / maps I dont mean music and directions, I mean multiple setups I can run with my Haltech ECU :lol: Like changing boost levels, changing nitrous cut in times etc while driving.

Cheers for the ideas guys, I'll have a look into those screens (plus I actually like that GPS solution :D )

What would I do for a signal to the amp?


Haha yeah but i was thinking for mine :P lol. As if it was me id want a gps in it too if your gonna go through all that effort :P haha.

Dras wrote:
Kustom_FTO wrote:Yeah but what I mean is so you can see where you are on the map? :O


A USB GPS receiver + a program like this:

http://download.cnet.com/Google-Maps-wi ... 94227.html

and you can see where you are using Google maps.


Thats sick as lol. Dam so many things i wanna do to my FTO but no cash, :( Lol

User avatar
Bennoz
National President
Posts: 23417
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 6:00 pm
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Post by Bennoz » Wed Oct 14, 2009 4:17 am

Has anyone toyed with these things? There's a 7 inch touch screen tucked inside it.

http://www.volsale.com/single-dinuniver ... anguage=en
Image

User avatar
Supplanter
Forum Moderator
Posts: 6383
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2002 5:00 pm
Location: Arizona Bay
Contact:

Post by Supplanter » Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:20 am

Group buy? :P
LED ALL the things.

User avatar
Kustom
Oldtimer
Posts: 6144
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 5:00 pm
Location: Brisbane

Post by Kustom » Wed Oct 14, 2009 8:00 am

Bennoz wrote:Has anyone toyed with these things? There's a 7 inch touch screen tucked inside it.

http://www.volsale.com/single-dinuniver ... anguage=en


No but dam they look nice, and come with a fair few features.

Supplanter wrote:Group buy? :P


I'm down for a group buy if enough other people are :P

User avatar
zhong
Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:00 pm
Location: Kingsford
Contact:

Post by zhong » Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:00 pm

Bennoz wrote:Has anyone toyed with these things? There's a 7 inch touch screen tucked inside it.

http://www.volsale.com/single-dinuniver ... anguage=en


hmm... correct me if i'm wrong... i think it's only the PC itself, no monitor inside.

you might have to get this one :) (still separate though)
http://www.volsale.com/set-single-dinun ... anguage=en

<img src="http://img263.imageshack.us/img263/6872/noobml9.jpg">

User avatar
Robbie
Mechanic
Posts: 659
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 6:00 pm
Location: Davoren Park
Contact:

Post by Robbie » Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:44 pm

OMGOMGOMG!!!!! I WANT!!!!!!!

EDIT: How much is that in dollars?

User avatar
Kustom
Oldtimer
Posts: 6144
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 5:00 pm
Location: Brisbane

Post by Kustom » Thu Oct 15, 2009 2:09 pm

Robbie wrote:OMGOMGOMG!!!!! I WANT!!!!!!!

EDIT: How much is that in dollars?



Up to 1 428.37€ = 695.145 AUD
From 2 to 3 418.40€ = 679.050 AUD
4 and more 408.44€ = 662.885 AUD

Preety exy but dam they look nice, and just think of it, like your head deck, plus you can do so much more! like play games while driving! woo :P

EDIT: think they'll go like 650 AUD for 10+ :P?

User avatar
Bennoz
National President
Posts: 23417
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 6:00 pm
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Post by Bennoz » Fri Oct 16, 2009 6:48 am

zhong wrote:
Bennoz wrote:Has anyone toyed with these things? There's a 7 inch touch screen tucked inside it.

http://www.volsale.com/single-dinuniver ... anguage=en


hmm... correct me if i'm wrong... i think it's only the PC itself, no monitor inside.

you might have to get this one :) (still separate though)
http://www.volsale.com/set-single-dinun ... anguage=en

<img src="http://img263.imageshack.us/img263/6872/noobml9.jpg">


Thats the one! Cheers :D

*orders*
Image

User avatar
Robbie
Mechanic
Posts: 659
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 6:00 pm
Location: Davoren Park
Contact:

Post by Robbie » Fri Oct 16, 2009 7:40 am

Should ask them if they can install some more ram. It's always handy to have more than 'recommended'...

User avatar
Bennoz
National President
Posts: 23417
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 6:00 pm
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Post by Bennoz » Fri Oct 16, 2009 7:50 am

I saw that, I reckon they'd be standard ram sticks. Will try pull it apart when I get it :)
Image


Post Reply