'amp draining battery incident' i wish to post

This forum discusses anything to do with your In Car Entertainment requirements such as. Stereo's, TV screens, Speakers, Navigation Systems, etc

Moderators: IMC, Club Staff

Post Reply
User avatar
Cassf88
Mechanic
Posts: 731
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 6:00 pm
Location: Melbourne
'amp draining battery incident' i wish to post

Post by Cassf88 » Thu Nov 25, 2010 2:35 pm

So, recently i stopped driving my car that often and had changed the battery cause mine was old.

After a week of no driving the new battery was completely drained and i had to hook it up to a battery pack just to charge it.

Now, i dont know about those who are reading this but this seemed very strange, how is it that my battery is so new and a within a week the battery has completely drained... i thought maybe, the immobiliser was draining it???

NO.

At this time, i was unhooking my 4-channel amp, ignition off and as i unhooked it from the wires they touched and to my HUGE suprise, they were still live!!

Now, im thinking is this normal? To my knowledge, the wiring should be done not directly to the battery but the ignition...?

Am i right that this was a botch job and therefore my battery has been draining all this time because of that or is this normal procedure?

User avatar
Dras
Mechanic
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 5:00 pm
Location: Castle Hill, Sydney
Contact:
Re: 'amp draining battery incident' i wish to post

Post by Dras » Thu Nov 25, 2010 2:41 pm

Normally, the amp is wired straight to the battery (via a fuse) but there is a wire that goes to the stereo that actually turns the unit on and off.

User avatar
FTO-BOY
Mechanic
Posts: 454
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 6:00 pm
Contact:
Re: 'amp draining battery incident' i wish to post

Post by FTO-BOY » Sun Dec 05, 2010 1:16 am

Yeah check that the stereo wire is connected to the right cable. try and locate the stere wire using the manual if not then get out you multi.

User avatar
Kustom
Oldtimer
Posts: 6144
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 5:00 pm
Location: Brisbane
Re: 'amp draining battery incident' i wish to post

Post by Kustom » Sun Dec 05, 2010 9:36 pm

Thats normal, Power goes straight to the battery, with a fuse inbetween (should be in your engine bay)...

It shouldn't be draining your battery as your amp won't be on... until your stereo turns on (should have a remote wire going from your amp to your stereo that tells your amp when to turn on/off)
Image
Taz wrote:When funds allow

User avatar
Sweep
Grease Monkey
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: QLD
Re: 'amp draining battery incident' i wish to post

Post by Sweep » Wed Feb 23, 2011 9:01 am

What Kustom said I had the same problem before I connected up the remote wire. Mine had Rem (remote)wrote on it.

User avatar
FTOgpx96
Grease Monkey
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 3:18 am
Location: Adelaide
Re: 'amp draining battery incident' i wish to post

Post by FTOgpx96 » Mon May 02, 2011 2:03 am

easiest way to know if the amp is draining power while your car is off is to look for your amp lights there will be 2 of them green and red, green is power and red is protection, now if the amp is getting power while the car is off the green light will be on. now if the amp is wired up correctly id be checking the power wires on your head unit as well making sure the +12v and ACC wires are correctly connected. if the amp is still on means that the internal power relay is shot and it will need to be repaired or the amp replaced.

if none of these problems are apparent then id be checking for positively charged wires touching the chassie and also id be checking the condition of your alternator and making sure your terminals are clean and connected and tightened correctly
Stranger : Nice Porche
Me : its not a Porche
Stranger : ah ok what is it a supra?
Me : nope
Stranger : what is it?
Me : its a mitsubishi
Stranger : Bullshit
Me : Check the badge on the front bumper :)

User avatar
Sahin
HULK
Posts: 5412
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 10:38 pm
Location: Up to me nuts in boys guts
Re: 'amp draining battery incident' i wish to post

Post by Sahin » Sat Oct 08, 2011 1:22 am

If you wanted to you could wire your remote wire to a switch


Post Reply