'96 GPX - New to FTOs

New to FTO's? Or Just new to this forum? Come introduce yourself, we dont bite.

Moderators: IMC, Club Staff

pete_gpx
Mechanic
jedwabna poszewka promocja

'96 GPX - New to FTOs

Post by pete_gpx »

I've been a fan of FTOs for ages and I finally had the chance to pick one up for cheap. It's a 96 GPX, 2.0ltr MIVEC, 4 speed tiptronic. It's a little worn, although not so much visually, having traveled 217 000ks. Honestly, though, for the price I paid for it, I can't complain.

The interior is almost perfect, which is amazing for a car of its age and mileage. The paint is also very good, definitely above average for the age, although there are one or two bubbles and a few patches of clear coat coming off.

Pictures:

The car was cheap, so obviously it comes with problems, which hopefully won't cost me a million dollars to fix up. At the moment it has an oil leak (I'm no mechanic, but I do know a little bit) and is puffing a little white smoke on start up. I don't believe the oil leak is going to be a major worry, but the smoke doesn't sound good. From reading on the forums here, as well as listening to some of my more knowledgeable friends, I've learned that it can mean the rings are worn, or that I have a blown head gasket. Any noob friendly advice regarding this problem would be accepted gratefully. At the moment, it drives well, but apparently wouldn't pass a roadworthy, although it is currently registered (which will be canceled next week).

Anyways, I've bought the car from down near Southport at the Gold Coast and am having it put on a trailer to be brought up to where I live, Toowoomba, next weekend.

I'm extremely excited about what I've bought, and I do have a little money to spend on repairs. Perhaps if the engine problems are too costly to fix, I'd be open to buying a cheap, good condition replacement to swap out to.