Power window problem, motor or regulator?

From Ferrari's to Fiats, it happens in here.

Moderators: IMC, Club Staff

Post Reply
User avatar
shadowarrior
Tightarse
Posts: 2700
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 4:48 pm
Location: Gold Coast
Power window problem, motor or regulator?

Post by shadowarrior » Sun Jan 19, 2014 1:30 pm

How do I narrow down which one out of these two is at fault?

I have eliminated fuses, wiring and switch issue.

One of the rear power window doesn't work with neither it's own switch nor the driver's side cluster. Rest of the windows worked. I swapped switches as well to make sure.

User avatar
Daniel2019
Oldtimer
Posts: 7954
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 12:25 pm
Location: Sydney!
Contact:
Re: Power window problem, motor or regulator?

Post by Daniel2019 » Sun Jan 19, 2014 1:32 pm

I know the problem...

There are no rear windows on an FTO that you can open :troll:
I fix cars.
Bennoz wrote:I got Bali beli & sharted on my phone. But it was fun :D
bjk wrote:you old people are no help at all.

User avatar
Sahin
HULK
Posts: 5442
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 10:38 pm
Location: Up to me nuts in boys guts
Re: Power window problem, motor or regulator?

Post by Sahin » Sun Jan 19, 2014 1:36 pm

Motor, it happens all the time with 4 door cars and heavy windows

User avatar
PHIL069
Oldtimer
Posts: 4709
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 5:00 pm
Location: Central Coast > South Australia
Re: Power window problem, motor or regulator?

Post by PHIL069 » Sun Jan 19, 2014 1:44 pm

I think I have a spare rear drivers side pajero window motor complete with the cable and bracket that bolts to the glass from when I had a pajero. (unless I through it out before the move) :?:
Bought it from the wreckers, but I didn't use it as it was just the plug had come out inside the door.
Last edited by PHIL069 on Sun Jan 19, 2014 1:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
mikeey01nzl wrote:Hats off to you too Phil for spending so much time on the phone trying to help someone out, your a top man and only a few would've spent so much time. well done! :salut:
Daniel2019 wrote:Come on phil, we bonded at the bonfire, lets be honest here...me and phil are besties now... :lol:
ImageImageImage

User avatar
shadowarrior
Tightarse
Posts: 2700
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 4:48 pm
Location: Gold Coast
Re: Power window problem, motor or regulator?

Post by shadowarrior » Sun Jan 19, 2014 1:46 pm

Sahin wrote:Motor, it happens all the time with 4 door cars and heavy windows
If the motor went, shouldn't make some noise trying to work? Unless the wiring inside has gone kaput....hmmm

Any way to test it with a multimeter? Else I'll be off to the wreckers this week.

User avatar
shadowarrior
Tightarse
Posts: 2700
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 4:48 pm
Location: Gold Coast
Re: Power window problem, motor or regulator?

Post by shadowarrior » Sun Jan 19, 2014 1:53 pm

PHIL069 wrote:I think I have a spare rear drivers side pajero window motor complete with the cable and bracket that bolts to the glass from when I had a pajero. (unless I through it out before the move) :?:
Bought it from the wreckers, but I didn't use it as it was just the plug had come out inside the door.
It is my rear drivers side window at fault as well :O

I've got the door trim off, guess I have to take the metal plate off as well to get to the motor.

If it was the switch, then the driver's side cluster should make it work? I even plugged the passenger side rear window switch to confirm if the switch was at fault.

I'll get the motor out and take pics to confirm we have the same motor. Mine is a 5 door Io.

User avatar
Vectose
Oldtimer
Posts: 3838
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 8:45 pm
Location: Newcastle
Re: Power window problem, motor or regulator?

Post by Vectose » Sun Jan 19, 2014 1:58 pm

Check with a multimeter if the motor is getting power when the switch is pressed. If it is and motor isn't working. Motor is fried.
Bennoz wrote:
Technikhaus wrote:What is in said Bens big penis by the way?
A whoooole lot 'o jism 8)

User avatar
PHIL069
Oldtimer
Posts: 4709
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 5:00 pm
Location: Central Coast > South Australia
Re: Power window problem, motor or regulator?

Post by PHIL069 » Sun Jan 19, 2014 2:05 pm

I think mine was a 96 GLS 7 seater 5 door
mikeey01nzl wrote:Hats off to you too Phil for spending so much time on the phone trying to help someone out, your a top man and only a few would've spent so much time. well done! :salut:
Daniel2019 wrote:Come on phil, we bonded at the bonfire, lets be honest here...me and phil are besties now... :lol:
ImageImageImage

User avatar
shadowarrior
Tightarse
Posts: 2700
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 4:48 pm
Location: Gold Coast
Re: Power window problem, motor or regulator?

Post by shadowarrior » Sun Jan 19, 2014 2:13 pm

Vectose wrote:Check with a multimeter if the motor is getting power when the switch is pressed. If it is and motor isn't working. Motor is fried.
I will need bit more steps explaining this process...am noob with multimeters...just learnt to open and put things back together so far :D

@Phil, mine is a 99 Io. Let me get that motor out. I'll ask in the 4wd forum if they share the same power window motor.

User avatar
Vectose
Oldtimer
Posts: 3838
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 8:45 pm
Location: Newcastle
Re: Power window problem, motor or regulator?

Post by Vectose » Sun Jan 19, 2014 2:18 pm

Set the multimeter to volts, find the plug that the motor connects to and place the prongs on the contacts of the plug and operate the switch and to if there is any voltage.
Bennoz wrote:
Technikhaus wrote:What is in said Bens big penis by the way?
A whoooole lot 'o jism 8)

User avatar
shadowarrior
Tightarse
Posts: 2700
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 4:48 pm
Location: Gold Coast
Re: Power window problem, motor or regulator?

Post by shadowarrior » Sun Jan 19, 2014 2:45 pm

Vectose wrote:Set the multimeter to volts, find the plug that the motor connects to and place the prongs on the contacts of the plug and operate the switch and to if there is any voltage.
Thanks. :)

User avatar
payaya
Oldtimer
Posts: 3662
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:00 pm
Re: Power window problem, motor or regulator?

Post by payaya » Mon Jan 20, 2014 4:12 am

The drivers switch sometimes causes no voltage at the slave doors so be careful of this.


Post Reply