Lead sheets

This forum discusses anything to do with your In Car Entertainment requirements such as. Stereo's, TV screens, Speakers, Navigation Systems, etc

Moderators: IMC, Club Staff

RK1-WhiteKnight
Apprentice
jedwabna poszewka promocja

Lead sheets

Post by RK1-WhiteKnight »

Anyone ever worked with lead sheets? A mate of mines been demolishing a hospital and managed to score some lead sheets from the x-ray room for me to use as sound deadening but I've never worked with it before.

My theory is to cut some thin rubber mats up to fit against the panels, cut them into strips big enough to fit through the holes and use them as a template to cut up the lead sheets

The lead seems pretty malleable so bending it to the shape of the car shouldn't be a problem but I'm not sure how to cut it safely, I know its poisonous so am a little apprehensive

After its cut I want to use some Ados F2 to stick it to the rubber then the rubber onto the panels

Any thoughts would be much appreciated
jonowong
Oldtimer

Post by jonowong »

what about the fact that is one of the heaviest metals you could possible get :lol:
RK1-WhiteKnight
Apprentice

jonowong wrote:what about the fact that is one of the heaviest metals you could possible get :lol:
Yep :D If the panels still rattle after I put this stuff on I'll be hella pissed
BorepYano
Forum Moderator

Post by BorepYano »

RK1-WhiteKnight wrote:
jonowong wrote:what about the fact that is one of the heaviest metals you could possible get :lol:
Yep :D If the panels still rattle after I put this stuff on I'll be hella pissed
should i suggest that u use something else? like the dynomat thingos or the Jcar alternative.

dude if your panels still rattle after using these, unless you are running some SERIOUS sound gear, there's somethign wrong with the welding on the panels.

lead... it's going to weigh the car down so much, it's like adding a permament fat friend in the car...
kiz wrote:
silverGPX wrote:This requires a thread? lol