Advice needed for sound system

This forum discusses anything to do with your In Car Entertainment requirements such as. Stereo's, TV screens, Speakers, Navigation Systems, etc

Moderators: IMC, Club Staff

Dan25
Mechanic
jedwabna poszewka promocja

Advice needed for sound system

Post by Dan25 »

Hey guys,

So I just blew one of my stock speakers and I've decided that it's time to get a decent set-up that will provide me with good, clear audio. However, I would like to keep to a very minimal cost. I'm actually quite good with technology (working in a technology store) but I have no knowledge of technical aspects of car audio and I have a few problems/questions I need addressed...

- The main problem I have at the moment with my old Kenwood head unit is that every time I hit a bump, the cd skips. If I were to get a new head unit, would this problem be solved? If so, which one is best?

- For the front speakers, I was thinking of 4-way rather than 2-way. Is this necessary?

- Will I require an amp to get better quality? I have no idea how they operate...

- I don't want a sub coz I don't care about bass. Is this the correct decision?

Any advice/ info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance :)
Robbie
Mechanic

Post by Robbie »

Dan25 wrote:The main problem I have at the moment with my old Kenwood head unit is that every time I hit a bump, the cd skips. If I were to get a new head unit, would this problem be solved? If so, which one is best?
it all depends on the deck's technology. research is always the go. ask a salesperson, its easier than looking on the net.
Dan25 wrote:For the front speakers, I was thinking of 4-way rather than 2-way. Is this necessary?
It'd give you clearer, sharper sound, but they are more expensive. probably not entirely necessary
Dan25 wrote:Will I require an amp to get better quality? I have no idea how they operate...