Need advice in buying a fto

New to FTO's? Or Just new to this forum? Come introduce yourself, we dont bite.

Moderators: IMC, Club Staff

ericd2x
jedwabna poszewka promocja

Need advice in buying a fto

Post by ericd2x »

Hi guys, i've just sold my180sx and now looking for either a fto, becomming to risky driving a turbo on a P plate, even though i've been doing so for the past 3 years . Anyways i'm looking at getting a fto with mivec tiptronic so i'm guessing 1996+.

How different is the gpr from the gpx in full detail?

Which fto's have a sun roof?

Does the tiptronic have much delay on shifts, how much power does it pull away from the car?

If i'm after a 1997+ fto mivec around 50,000-75,000k on the clock how much am i looking at spending?

Are parts expensive with the fto's or will they be about the same as a 180sx?

The brakes on ftos are abit weak and warp easy i've heard, is it true?

And any advice in purchasing my new car will be helpful thxs
dstocks
National Vice President

Post by dstocks »

How different is the gpr from the gpx in full detail?
Version R comes standard with strut braces and a limited slip diff and a different rearwing. GPX has climate control and fold in mirrors. Find a full comparison here:

http://www.completefto.com.au/CompleteFTO.asp?aid=454
Which fto's have a sun roof?
The sunroof was an option on the FTO that was selected at the factory
Does the tiptronic have much delay on shifts, how much power does it pull away from the car?
I personally found there was a slight lag when I had a tip FTO, but apparently the oil you put in the car has a significant effect on this. As to power drop, I believe there is a difference as I have owned both tips and manuals and my manual is definitelt more responsive. Having said that, you are just as likely to get an even larger variation based on the car itself given the age of them now.
If i'm after a 1997+ fto mivec around 50,000-75,000k on the clock how much am i looking at spending?