I am looking at buying an FTO, need advice

General Questions and comments

Moderators: IMC, Club Staff

madman
jedwabna poszewka promocja

I am looking at buying an FTO, need advice

Post by madman »

Hey forum im a newbie here, ive had my fair share of cars in the past, evos, gtrs, vtecs, drift pigs, and luxury super cars......I can pull apart a car completely and rebuild it better, faster, and stronger (my knowledge about cars is more than a average mechanic and panel beater knows)...Now you are probably thinking why the heck an FTO, if i have had all these cars in the past??

The answer is very simple, i ran into debt due to a car accident that put me in hospital and the insurance accused me of fraud so the "courts" took everything i had to my name....the only thing i was left with was some cash, clothes and my tools....So im starting to get back up on my feet and want to have fun again but on a much cheaper scale....and have always eyed out the FTO since i had seen them, and fwd cars can be more fun than rwd if you know how to left foot brake down the mountains.... going to my old type of cars will cost a lot of money for basic mods, (big fast cars from factory cost a lot more to modify and maintain)......

So when it comes to inspecting a car i know what to look out for, leaks, cracks, etc..... i would usually explain to the owner or dealership that i would be with the car for 4-5hours and that if it check out i would buy it, i am a very FUSSY C&NT when it comes to cars...

I have been looking at fto's but have not found one to my liking for price range, mainly due to improper maintenance...

Now when and if i come across one that ticks my liking, i would like to know:

1. what are the KNOWN and COMMON problems with the FTO's?
2. After 200,000kms how is the engine and car holding up? (eg what is known to start failing at those kms if there are any)
3. How is aftermarket support in parts for these??

and does the GPX Manual come with LSD?