Air Filter Questions

This forum is for technical discussions on anything that will make your car handle better or go faster.

Moderators: IMC, Club Staff

ruchi
Oldtimer
jedwabna poszewka promocja

Air Filter Questions

Post by ruchi »

I'm no expert, but I am fairly logical and also have a basic understanding of physics. I have read the various topics and threads on air filters, but to me there seems to be some issues people are missing, and I would like some help in having them clarified.

As we know, the better the car can breathe, and the denser the air the engine receives, the more powerful / efficient the engine can be. However it seems to me that some of the options talked about in this forum could actually lead to a decrease in performance / efficiency. It would also appear that some of these changes would bring about different results in a static dyno test versus real driving situations.

The two biggest issues seem to be the ability for the car to suck the air in, and the temperature of it - both of which greatly affect the density of air reaching the combustion chamber.

In any static test, where the car is not moving, such as a dyno test, the air around the car is fairly still and therefore as the engine sucks it in, it pretty much gets what it needs. But in a real life situation, the faster you drive, the quicker the air is rushing past the air intake. If the air intake is pointing straight at the oncoming air flow, then the density of the air is increased as it is coming at a higher pressure. However, if the air intake is offset to the side, then the amount of force required to suck the same amount of air in would need to increase. As the suction from the engine remains the same, regardless of induction system used, this would mean that less air (lower density) is reaching the engine as you continue to increase speed.