Camera Mount

Cruises, Meeting's and State Specific Information

Moderators: IMC, Club Staff

Sparhawk
Veteran Mechanic
jedwabna poszewka promocja

Camera Mount

Post by Sparhawk »

I remember seeing sonic with a camera mount on his EVO for the window I think. Was wondering where to look for these, and how much they cost etc... Anyone know ?

(well obvoiusly sonic will know...)
[color=blue]Death is life's way of telling you - you're fired.[/color]
Oh Bugger, my sig block pic has dropped off the host ;(
TCGPX
Grease Monkey

Post by TCGPX »

Are you looking to mount a video or still camera in there Steve?

I started playing around with this sorta thing a while ago (Pinched the idea from Sonic on the cruise he came on). Got a couple of big suction cups and was rigging a mount for the camera, then started to realise the glare issues you had in your photos if it's mounted on the side window. I've even tried out of the sunroof, until we almost lost the camera :oops:. Gave up on that one.

You have to have the camera real close to the front windscreen to get around it, I can prop my still camera (which can shoot 15min high quality or 30 mins low quality video) between the windscreen and the dash. Just need something pointy to hit record :wink:

The only issue here is that the video doesn't give a good indication of speed. Everything seems much slower than it really is. Lately I've been toying with the idea of mounting one of those small surveillance type cameras on the front bumper. Can get wireless ones too. Just need something in the car to record it. Not keen on VHS, too hard to get onto computer plus 12V ones last time I checked were Big $$. Suggestions welcome...
tarkus
Mechanic

Post by tarkus »

Hya

I have taken some reasonable video through the windscreen. ya gotta make sure it clean and polished. but a tripod wedged in front of the passenger seat is pretty stable.